Latest News


Sign-up for all the latest updates:


Next Event

October 7th - 11st, 2017
31st EACTS Annual Meeting

Future Events

Euromacs is supported by the
Friede Springer Heart Foundation
Friede Springer Herz Stifung

The inception of Euromacs was made possible by a grant from the Friede Springer Heart Foundation


Executive Board

The main task of the Executive Board is to implement and maintain the scientific conceptual design and further development of the register by safeguarding the rights of the patients. Further, the Executive Board is responsible for formalizing agreements between Euromacs and clinical centers as well as with research institutions.

Initially, the board has been composed by clinicians with the expected highest number of data records that are transmitted to the registry of the association. According to the statute of Euromacs, future elections and recalls of members of the board of directors shall take place at the general members meeting.

As of October 2016 EUROMACS executive board consists of 5 members

Prof. Dr. med. Jan Gummert (Bad Oeynhausen) Executive Chairman
Prof. Dr. Paul Mohacsi, MBA Deputy Chairman
Dr. Ivan Netuka (Prague) Treasurer
Prof. Dr. Bart Meyns (Leuven) Member
Prof. Dr. André Vincentelli (Lille) Member

Extended Board

Dr. Evaristo Castedo (Madrid) Member
Prof. Dr. Finn Gustafsson (Copenhagen) Member
Prof. Dr. Pascal Leprince (Paris) Member
Dr. Kadir Caliskan (Rotterdam) Member
Prof. Dr. Francesco Musumeci (Rome) Member
Prof. Dr. Thomas Krabatsch (Berlin) Member


The management of the regular business of the Euromacs organisation is carried out by the Managing Director. The board has delegated several executive tasks to the managing director.

Theo M.M.H. de By MBA (The Hague) Managing Director

Scientific Advisory Council

The task of the Scientific Advisory Council shall promote and support the interests of the association with their scientific capabilities. In particular, the Scientific Advisory Council shall examine proposals for new research projects which are rejected by the board, as well as to assess the annual report which the board of directors prepares. The Scientific Advisory Council shall inform third party investors, as required by the regulations on grants, about the course of the sponsored projects.

The Scientific Advisory Council consists of:

Dr. Fiane Arndt (Oslo)
Prof. Dr. Bart Meyns (Leuven)
Dr. Finn Gustafsson (Copenhagen)
Prof. Dr. Jaap Lahpor (Utrecht)
Prof. Dr. Luigi Martinelli (Pavia)
Dr. Julia Stein (Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Armin Zittermann (Bad Oeynhausen)
Prof. Dr. Steven Tsui (Cambridge)
Copyright Euromacs 2012 European Registry for Patients with Mechanical Circulatory Support e.V.
Website Design and Hosting by The Communications Group